Immigration Blog

Learn more about immigration law through these articles

Greece Joins the List of Visa Waiver Countries

Mar 10, 2010 | Visa Waiver Program (VWP)

In a press release dated March 9, 2010, Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano announced the designation of Greece as a member of the Visa Waiver Program (“VWP”).

The VWP allows nationals of 35 countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa.

Like VWP travelers from other countries, Greek citizens will be required to apply for an Electronic System Travel Authorization (“ESTA”) through the Web-based system.¬† ESTA applications may be submitted at anytime prior to travel, though it is recommended travelers apply when they begin preparing travel plans.

The State Department’s website contains useful and important information about VWP and it answers many frequently asked questions about the program.

Ruchi Thaker